You Should Know

If you are going to fall in love with me, here are some things you should know. I cry a lot. Whether it be over school, or someone I lost, or a fictional character I believe just didn’t deserve it, I’ll cry. And you don’t need to say anything or try to fix it. You just need to hold me.

My biggest fear is letting someone completely in. They can run away with your secrets and never come back. So it may take time, but I’ll let you in. It may start with something small like why my favorite color is black or why my favorite book is The Last Time We Say Goodbye, but then it will work up to why I began writing in the first place.

I love God more than I could ever love you. I love him more than I love my own family. And I hope you don’t let any love you have for me eclipse your love for Him.

My best friend is make it or break it. She is important in my life and I would hope you could always be friends with her.

I am myself, but there are other people inside of me. You should get to know each one.

There will be times where I will be angry, and I won’t know why or how to stop it. There will be times where I will be sad, and I won’t know how to stop it. There will be times where I will be anxious, and I won’t know how to stop it. There will be times where I will be terrified, and I won’t know how to stop it.

I will lose myself so completely in a book that it may become all I think about. I just need someone to listen while I rant about the bigger meaning of the book, or why I wish a character acted differently.

Tell me the truth. Even if the truth makes your soul shake and rattles your bones. That’s when it’s most important.

I hope to challenge any dark that may be inside of you. Don’t run away when that happens.

And most importantly, if you love me, and if you give me everything you’ve got, I will never give up on you. I’ll love you until the end of the line, if you’ll let me.

Leave a Reply

