The Family

The first time I invited him to meet my family

The first time she introduced me to her family

He was fascinated by our home.

I was crazy jealous.

How amazing was it

How amazing was it

That someone could think so highly of us.

That she had people who cared so much.

How amazing was it

How amazing was it

That he thought our family was whole.

That her family was whole.

He told me he came from a broken home

I told her

But so did I.

That mine was fractured.

My father has a suspicious amount of late nights at the office with his secretary

My father was eternally intoxicated

And my mother still keeps a razor under the sink for when she’s alone.

And my mother was a nameless whore.

My brother privately deals out of the back of his car

My sister married an abuser

And I keep my emotions bottled up so no one knows.

And my brother was shot because of a leaf.

But my fragmented family

But her family

began to heal when he came in,

They took me in,

started to piece back together again.

Loved me when my own father couldn’t.

Never have I known,

Never have I known,

That one boy could impact my life so much.

That someone can look after another that isn’t their own.

Never have I known,

Never have I known,

That shattered shards could be made whole again.

That the broken can begin to be mended.

Can this be my future?

  • e.o. & m.f.
Leave a Reply

