stars in the sky and your eyes.

God put the stars in the sky

and God put me on this earth

and when I look up

to see those brilliant circulations of gas,

I know they shine for me.

I know that on my darkest days

when the doubts creep in

and hope fades out,

they shine for me.

I know that during my biggest successes

when I feel a swell of pride

and nothing can bring me down,

they shine for me.

 

God put the stars in your eyes

and God put me in your life

and when I look at you

to see those shining deep blues,

I hope they shine for me.

I hope that when we wake up

next to each other on a Saturday morning

with half closed eyes,

they shine for me.

I hope that when life becomes too much

and you lay your head on my shoulder

with tears in your eyes,

they shine for me.

 

When I was a little girl,

I always yearned to be a little closer

to those bright stars in the sky.

I asked God why he put them

billions of miles away

when they were so beautiful

and deserved to be appreciated.

Then he sent me you,

you with the brightest stars

I’ve ever gazed at,

you with even more beauty

I’ve ever witnessed.

You are my star,

and you shine for me.

  • m.f.
Leave a Reply

