maybe is a weird word.

Maybe I get my hopes up too easily.

Maybe I overthought what we were.

Maybe I overthought what we could’ve been.

Maybe I wanted you.

Maybe I wanted you to want me.

 

Maybe I met you and I befriended you

And maybe I fell for you a little bit

And maybe I wanted you to catch me.

And maybe I gave you what you wanted in hopes you’d want me back.

And maybe I thought there was a possibility you did.

 

Maybe my heart jumped a little when you told me you broke up with your girlfriend,

And maybe that makes me a bad person.

But maybe my heart sunk a little when I saw you with her again.

Maybe I wished it was me you’d spend late nights with.

Maybe I wished it was me you’d take to dinner.

Maybe I realized I didn’t look like her.

And maybe then I realized I’m not for you.

 

Maybe you like the pretty girls,

the ones who are tall and skinny

with blonde hair and clear skin.

And maybe I don’t look like that.

Scratch that,

I know I don’t look like that.

I know I’m not tall nor skinny.

I know I don’t have golden hair or a pretty face,

But maybe I thought I could be enough for you.

Maybe I conjured up a picture in my mind of what we could be

And maybe I wanted it to happen.

 

Maybe I came to my senses one day.

Maybe I realized my lifestyle doesn’t fit yours.

Maybe I realized I don’t smoke and I don’t drink.

Maybe I realized I prefer watching a movie in my bed at night over getting smashed at a party.

Maybe I realized I would rather take a nap in the afternoon than get high.

Maybe I realized you’re not for me.

 

And maybe in another life we could’ve been more than friends.

And maybe in another life we could’ve been meant to be.

And maybe we’ll meet again later on

And I’ll have my life together and you’ll have yours.

And maybe then you won’t have a type.

And maybe then I would’ve been drunk once or twice.

And maybe we could be something special.

But for now,

I know we’re friends

And maybe that’s enough.

  • m.f.
Leave a Reply

