who am i.

here I sit

in this desk

in this English class

reading the texts you send

telling me why you love me.

you say my eyes are a sea of chocolate,

you say my hair is silky smooth,

you say my heart is kind,

you say i’m beautiful,

you say you love me

for who i am.

 

here i sit

in this desk

in this English class

listening to what they say

about choosing my future.

they say this is the most important decision,

they say i can’t screw this up,

they say i should know by now,

they say i’ll be doing this forever,

they say i should choose

based on who i am.

 

here i sit

in this desk

in this English class

thinking about my life.

i think of all the reasons

not to pick this career.

i think of all the reasons

not to pick you.

i think of my future,

i think of how lost i feel

i think

i don’t know who i am.

 

  • m.f.
One thought on “who am i.

Leave a Reply

