drunk on life.

Pour me a glass

of that happiness

everyone seems drunk on.

Give me a shot

of the joy

everyone seems to be intoxicated with.

Let me stumble through the streets

shouting to the sleepy neighborhoods

about how much I love life.

Grant me the freedom to grin madly

at every passerby

who dares to question my dreams.

Allow me to laugh without care

even if I’m sitting in this dark bar

surrounded by even darker people.

Give me the unabashed courage

to taste the rosy lips

of that boy I’ve had my eye on.

I’m tired of sitting around

and overthinking

and worrying

and stressing

and frowning.

I’m tired of my sobriety

being the reason why

I’m too afraid to take chances.

 

  • m.f.
Leave a Reply

