you stole my heart.

 

from an early age,

I started constructing

a fence around my heart.

It’s made of the strongest metal

with barbed wire at the top

and it continues to grow higher.

My heart is so guarded,

that anyone who tries to steal it

winds up with

bloody hands

and bruised knees,

so most people

leave it alone.

 

But then you came along.

You came into my life

and treated me so lovely

and you climbed my fence with such diligence.

and you ended up with

bloody hands

and bruised knees,

but you succeeded.

You stole my heart.

 

Now my fence was useless

and I was confused.

This was a first for me.

No one had ever succeeded before.

So I put my trust in you,

and I depended on you,

and I made decisions based on you,

because I had no heart

to decide for me anymore.

 

Then came our falling out.

You didn’t treat me so lovely anymore,

and you didn’t pursue me with as much effort anymore,

and I wanted my heart back.

But you took it and ran.

And I chased after you,

and I followed you,

and I sprinted after you,

until I could only crawl.

I was left with

bloody hands

and bruised knees.

But this time,

I didn’t have a heart either.

 

  • m.f.

 

 

Leave a Reply

