The First Glance

The first time I saw him,

The first time I saw her,

He wasn’t doing anything special.

She was being fearlessly herself.

He was sitting in his circle of friends

She was surrounded by her best friends

With his head thrown back in laughter.

With this look on her face like she knew a big secret.

He was bright and boisterous,

She was colorful and courageous,

My sun shining after a day of thunderstorms and lightning.

My rainbow promising me a better tomorrow.

He was animated and alive,

She was vibrant and vivacious,

The cartoons I used to excitedly wake up early to watch as a kid.

The moonlight I looked forward to as a child because it meant freedom.

He was refreshing and reinvigorating,

She was exhilarating and exciting,

My cold drink of water after I was done running from my problems.

My daredevil actions to prove that I am not afraid.

He was perfect and my polar opposite,

She was perfect and my polar opposite,

But still I was drawn to him

Yet I couldn’t tear my eyes away

Like a moth to a flame.

Like a dog desperate for water.

He was everything I was not.

She’s everything I’ve ever wanted to be.

Is this love?

  • m.f. & e.o.
One thought on “The First Glance

Leave a Reply

