he4rtless

my heart has been damaged

one too many times.

 

the First One,

he made promises he couldn’t keep

and stole hearts that didn’t belong to him.

and then he ran away,

leaving me with an empty chest,

until one day he sent it back,

shattered into pieces.

i was better off heartless.

 

the Second One,

he made promises he couldn’t keep,

said he could fix my heart,

make it whole again.

and i was reluctant,

i was wary,

but i gave it to him anyway.

and he didn’t run away,

instead,

he smashed it right in front of my eyes,

handing it back to me

in more pieces than i had given him.

i was better off heartless.

 

the Third One,

he didn’t even bother making promises,

he didn’t claim he could fix me,

he didn’t care for much,

but neither did i.

so i gave it to him,

just to see what he would do with it

because he couldn’t possibly make it worse.

but as it turns out,

he was the worst of all

because he simply

gave it back to me

without a word

like i wasn’t worth loving.

 

and i became so angry,

i ended up being the Fourth One.

i broke my own heart.

shattered it into tinier pieces,

crushed it into dust.

and then i scattered my remains

all over the globe,

so everyone could have a piece

of my damaged heart.

i hope they’ll make better use of it

than i ever did

because i was always

better off heartless.

 

  • m.f.
Leave a Reply

