Dangerous Waters

I lie at the bottom of the pool.

Drowned in my own thoughts.

And you tried to save me.

I could hear your yelling

as my head was fully submerged.

But as I went down,

your voice faded out

while my thoughts only grew louder.

Minutes later you pulled me out of the water,

pushing on my stomach,

trying to revive the life I used to have inside.

But you were too late.

My mind had already killed me.

It was sink or swim,

and my arms were tired

while my thoughts were much too strong.

They overpowered me,

pulled me under.

And now I lie motionless

on the side of the pool

while your tears fall on my body.

I guess a little more water can’t hurt.

 

  • m.f.

 

 

Leave a Reply

