I do.

Once people fall in love,

They use galaxies

And planets

And stars

To describe how strongly they feel.

They compare themselves

To exploding supernovas.

They claim their love

Spans across the milky way.

They believe they were meant

To orbit around each other forever.

 

But I,

I can only love you with myself.

I cannot give you

Galaxies

Or stars

Or planets.

I cannot promise

Our love will be as exciting

As the making of a new star.

I cannot promise

That my love is as infinite as space.

I cannot promise

That we will orbit each other

For eternity.

 

But I,

I can give you a warm hug

After you’ve had a bad day.

I can make your coffee in the morning

Before you go.

I can listen to stories about your day

Even if they’re not interesting.

I can kiss you

When the weather gets cold

I can care for you

On days when you don’t feel well.

I can treat you

Like you deserve to be treated.

I can love you

With every cell of my body.

 

I don’t know if

The planets, galaxies, and stars love you.

But I,

I do.

  • m.f.
3 thoughts on “I do.

  1. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s
    time to be happy. I have read this put up and if I may just I desire to recommend you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article.

    I wish to read more issues about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

